The museum


Inscription in the front of the museum´s building

The museum is housed in the old town hall building, which takes the form of a tower house. On the outside it boasts two shields, that of the town and that of the Catholic Monarchs. Above the entry there is an inscription dating from 1562 that alludes to its patron, Don Martín Pérez de Placencya. Following the construction of the present-day Town Hall, in 1922, this older building served as a district and local court, and more recently as a library.

In January 1999, the Placentia de Butrón Foundation inaugurated the museum with the aim of recovering and exhibiting different elements from the history of Plentzia and its district. The house is arranged with an entry hall and two storeys.


Edificio Museo Plasentia de Butrón


Museum´s building and main entrance

Virtual visit of the museum.